End of the line

After 33 years as a Spooner School District teacher and coach on several sports teams, Kurt Kunkel will be among the teachers retiring or leaving the district this year. Spooner Middle School held their final Rails Rally of the year on June 7.

SPOONER– The final Rails Rally of the 2017-18 school year at Spooner Middle School was held on June 7, honoring academic achievement and saying good-bye to some beloved teachers.

Students received STAR Recognition and certificates for their accomplishments, including …



5th Grade: Lily Hobscheid, Misha Swonger, Hayden Hendricks, Taye Bass, Anthony Robertson.

6th Grade: Luke Popp, Zachary Meyers, Carson Klein, Grant Popp, Michael Beggs.

7th Grade: Cody Busch, Ahmed Jasmyne, Autumn Larrabee, Conner Mcallister, Lola Handy.

8th Grade: Devon Melton, Brianna Mattson, Nevaen Colegrove, Hadlea Lindstrom, Lucas Schaaf.


Math Top

5th Grade: Lily Hobsheid, Serena Lu, Jesse Morales, Brook Asleson, Anthony Robertson.

6th Grade: Mason Schultz, Grant Popp, Boston Chartier, Brody Welsch, Ethan Young.

7th Grade: Alexis LaPorte, Cody Busch, Allison Cook, Ethan Blatterman, Julia Corbin.

8th Grade: Lexie Schumacher, Brianna Mattson, Bridger Klein, Gunnur Hess, McKenzie Anderson. 


Most Improved

5th ELA: Reece Miller, Jacob Cheplick, Cha Burdick McTaggart, Misha Swonger, Xandrik Hoover

5th Math: Lily Hobscheid, Serena Lu, Brooke Asleson, Jesse Morales, Landon Ostrom, Anthony Robertson.

6th ELA: Mason Featherly, Mason Schultz, Jose Amparo, Zachary Meyers, Fernando Galan-burns.

6th Math: Tavin Moralez-beaudin, Brody Welch, Mason Schultz, Dalton Zehm, Theodore Vanbuskirk.

7th ELA: Alaina Lambert, Aubne Bell, Conner Mcallister, Emma Kauffman, Caleb Richtrt.

7th Math: Alexis LaPorte, Emma Bartz, Caleb Richter, Mercedes Butler, Kadience Streitz.

8th ELA: Davon Melton, Hadlea Lindstrom, Nevaeh Colegrove, Brianna Mattson, Keegan Gunderson, Lucas Schaaf. 

Math: Lexie Schumacher, Brianna Mattson, Bridger Klein, Gunnur Hess, McKenzie Anderson.


Throughout the school year Spooner businesses made sure that academic achievement was rewarded, sponsoring prizes for students. Thanked for their support of Spooner Middle School at the Rails Rally were Riverstreet, Tony’s Riverside, Alley Cats, Burch Barn, Iplay, Denele’s Pizza, Palace Theatre, Sam Hicks and Red Cross.

Principal Brad Larrabee honored student Liahonna Zafra, the only Spooner Middle School student to achieve Perfect Attendance for the year. Students were also named for Perfect Attendance in the 4th Quarter.

Teachers who are retiring, transferring or leaving the Spooner School District were introduced. Leaving will be Mark Canfield, Amanda Olson, John Eller, Josh Fizel (transferring from Middle School to Spooner High School), and Kurt Kunkel, retiring after teaching and coaching Spooner students and athletes for 33 years.

Also leaving will be Principal Brad Larrabee, who is heading to the Northwestern School District in Maple. He introduced the new Middle School Principal, Michelle Kabdi, turning over his keys to her.

Carrie Busch discussed the sixth-grade E-Cyber Mission. One Spooner team, the Furious Four – made up of team members Alyssa Bambenek, Lily Hotchkiss, Zoey Wilson and Emma Voeltz – placed second in State Competition. Each team member received a $500 scholarship.

Games were played, hugs were exchanged, good-byes were said.

And with the end of classes on Friday, June 8, the final bell sounded for the school year at Spooner Middle School until students return next fall.

(Copyright © 2021 APG Media)

Recommended for you

Load comments