Four northwestern Wisconsin counties, including Sawyer, have been selected to receive the St. Croix River Association Watershed Steward Award.

In Sawyer County, the award was presented to the Namekagon River Partnership for its “Namekagon River: Wisconsin’s Moving National Park” campaign. Other counties receiving awards were Bayfield, Burnett and Washburn.

The Namekagon River Partnership promotion raised awareness of the special status of the Namekagon as a national park and a wild and scenic river. The goal was to inspire new audiences to explore the river and remind past visitors of their memorable experiences, inviting them to come back.

The Hayward Lakes Visitors and Convention Bureau also contributed to the promotion.

(Copyright © 2019 APG Media)

Load comments