On Saturday, Oct. 8, the doors of Kinnamon School at the corner of Highways K and E will be open to the public for the first time since its closing 50 years ago.
From 1932 to 1967, Kinnamon was the educational center for hundreds of young people throughout the area in grades 1-8, most of them members of the Lac Courte Oreilles Tribe.
In 2012, the LCO Tribe received a grant to renovate the school and restore it as a tribal museum and visitor center. While renovation and expansion will continue, Kinnamon is ready to welcome tribal members and others in the Hayward area to celebrate its importance in educating young people and giving them a springboard to success.
An exhibit describing Kinnamon’s history will be open to the public at 10 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 8, followed at 11 a.m. by a series of presentations on Native education.
Singers from the Waadookodaading Ojibwe Language Immersion School will open the ceremonies, infusing new life in to a facility dedicated to youth.
The keynote address will be given by Dr. David Beaulieu (White Earth Ojibwe), professor and endowed chair of the College of Education at the University of Minnesota and former director of the Office of Indian Education.
LCO Tribal Governing Board member Jason Schlender will discuss the boarding school experience of LCO members. Dr. Rick St. Germaine, retired professor of American Indian history and former chairman of the LCO Tribe, will remind the audience of the history of Kinnamon and its impact on the present day.
Visitors are invited to enjoy the day at the “new” Kinnamon. The grand opening is sponsored by the Lac Courte Oreilles Tribe and Native American Tourism of Wisconsin. For more information, call Faith Smith at (715) 558-4673.
The Kinnamon School is located at the junction of Highways K and E, next to the LCO Veterans Monument Park.