A man behind the recently enacted Minnesota law barring drivers from using cell phones without a hand-free device is working to see similar legislation passed in Wisconsin. Now, state lawmakers say they’re working on a bill to do just that.
On Aug. 1, a Minnesota law went into effect making it illegal to hold a cell phone in order to talk, navigate, text, take pictures or browse the internet while driving. Drivers caught violating the law are subject to a $50 fine for a first offense. The goes to $275 for subsequent violations.